St Clere’s School has been a popular oversubscribed secondary school since it opened in 1978. In 1993, it was one of the first schools in Essex to become Grant Maintained. In September 2009, St Clere’s Secondary School became a Foundation Trust school, starting the St Clere’s Co-operative Community Learning Partnership. When East Tilbury Infant School and East Tilbury Junior School joined St Clere’s Secondary School in the Foundation in 2010, the decision was made to change the name of the Foundation to North Thames Co-operative Learning Partnership.


St Clere’s Secondary School converted to an Academy in September 2011. In April 2012, East Tilbury Infants School and East Tilbury Junior School joined with St Clere’s Secondary School to form St Clere’s Co-operative Academy Trust. This was the first Multi-Academy Trust in the country to have Co-operative Articles of Association. Since then, the St Clere’s Co-operative Academy Trust has proudly welcomed Thameside Primary School (September 2012), Stanford-le-Hope Primary School (June 2013), Arthur Bugler Primary School (September 2016), Brentwood County High School (September 2017), Horndon-on-the-Hill C. of E. Primary School (April 2019), Doddinghurst C. of E. Junior School (June 2019), Little Thurrock Primary School (June 2019), Thames Park Secondary School (September 2020), Warren Primary School (October 2020) and Bonnygate Primary School (December 2020) into its family of schools.


In 2017 St Clere’s Co-operative Academy Trust changed its name to Osborne Co-operative Academy Trust. The name comes from our founder and Chair of the Trust, Mr Ray Osborne, who sadly passed away in the summer of 2016. Ray Osborne had been a governor at St Clere’s Secondary School since 1978. He was also Chair of Governors at the school from 1980 and Chair of the Trust from 2011. We held a number of branding workshops to clarify our understanding of who we were and where we were going. We worked through a number of different options and eventually came back to our founder’s name. We have moved away from our founding school and taken up a separate identity and Osborne Co-operative Academy Trust works for all our stakeholders.


Paul Griffiths, former Head Teacher of St Clere’s Secondary School, became the Chief Executive Officer of Osborne Co-operative Academy Trust in September 2013. Since then, he has been working closely with the schools, supporting them to raise attainment and attendance while promoting our trust-wide co-operative ethos. The ethos of all schools in our Trust is centred on the values of self-responsibility, self-help, equality, equity, democracy and solidarity.


By providing support to each other with these values in mind, we aim to improve educational standards in our school and the local area so that every pupil can reach their full potential. We believe that it is a sense of shared responsibility – in which everybody has a vested interest and the opportunity to play their part – that will transform education in our community.


Osborne Co-operative Academy Trust is collaborating with local primary and secondary schools as well as with the nine academies in our Trust. We are looking to develop our Trust further and have set up an affiliation with Chelmsford Diocese to further support schools in our community. Schools wishing to know more about our Trust are welcome to contact us at